Springmoot and AGM

Springmoot is held each April on the weekend of the Tolkien Society’s AGM. The meeting itself only takes up a few hours on the Saturday afternoon, and is followed in the evening by the semi-formal Annual Dinner featuring a talk from a Guest Speaker and the announcement of The Tolkien Society Awards.

Springmoot takes place in a different location each year, often organised by members of a local smial. It usually begins with an innmoot (eating, drinking, and chatting in a local pub) on the Friday evening, and often ends with an organised tour of the town or local heritage site on the Sunday morning.

Guest Speakers

The Guest Speaker’s talk is often the highlight of the weekend for members. It is usually delivered by a Tolkien scholar, publisher, or artist. Past speakers include Tom Shippey, Priscilla Tolkien, Michael Tolkien, Brian Sibley, Rayner Unwin, and Ted Nasmith.

Each year we strive to stick with this high calibre history of speakers.

Previous Springmoots

Year Location Guest Speaker(s) Talk Published?
2024 Jesus College, Cambridge Andrew Higgins TBC
2023 Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh Anna Vaninskaya TBC
2022 The Rougemont Hotel, Exeter Nick Groom TBC
2021 Online Verlyn Flieger YouTube
2020 Online Una McCormack YouTube
2019 Ambassadors Bloomsbury Hotel, London Members of the Society YouTube: June Rosenblum, Mike Percival, Lyn Wilshire, Ian Spittlehouse, Elena Davison
2018 Kingston Theatre Hotel, Hull Andy Orchard YouTube
2017 Warwick Arms Hotel, Warwick Mark Atherton YouTube
2016 The Middletons Hotel, York Alan Lee YouTube
2015 Norfolk Arms, Arundel Leslie Megahey YouTube
2014 Baskerville Hall Hotel, Hay-on-Wye John Garth  
2013 Comfort Hotel, St Albans Lynn Whitaker and members  
2012 School of Education, University of Glasgow Farah Mendlesohn  
2011 The White Hart Royal Hotel, Moreton-in-Marsh Dimitra Fimi  
2010 Jury’s Inn Hotel, Brighton Charles Noad Mallorn 50
2009 St Aidan’s College, Durham Allan Turner  
2008 Leofric Hotel, Coventry Edmund Weiner  
2007 The Astor Hotel, Plymouth Roger (& Linda) Garland Slideshow and Q&A
2006 The King’s School, Canterbury Henry Gee  
2005 The Mayflower Theatre and Southampton Park Hotel Brian Rosebury  
2004 White Hart Hotel, Lincoln John Garth  
2003 Blossoms Hotel, Chester Ted Nasmith  
2002 Moreton Park Lodge, Oswestry Brian Sibley  
2001 Wortley Hall, Sheffield Christopher Garbowski  
2000 New Inn Hotel, Gloucester Patrick Curry DPGT Volume 3
1999 King Charles Hotel, Gillingham Michael Scott Rohan DPGT Volume 3
1998 Plough and Harrow Hotel, Birmingham Michael George Tolkien DPGT Volume 3
1997 Old Course Hotel, Chepstow Colin Duriez DPGT Volume 2
1996 Lord Leycester Hotel, Warwick René van Rossenberg DPGT Volume 2
1995 Cairn Hotel, Edinburgh Charles Coulombe DPGT Volume 3
1994 The Lion Hotel, Shrewsbury Joanna Tolkien DPGT Volume 2
1993 The Moat House Hotel, Nottingham Mary Butler  
1992 The Waterfront Hotel, Hull Colin Duriez DPGT Volume 2
1991 Maids Head Hotel, Norwich Tom Shippey DPGT Volume 2
1990 Corpus Christi College, Cambridge Rayner Unwin DPGT Volume 2
1989 Ship Hotel, Chichester A.N. Wilson  
1988 Park Hotel, Cardiff Graham Watkins  
1987 Queen’s Hotel, Leeds Rob Inglis  
1986 Queen’s Hotel, Cheltenham Geraldine Harris DPGT Volume 1
1985 St George Hotel, Liverpool Douglas Gray  
1984 The Guildhall Hotel, Leicester Jonathan Simons  
1983 YMCA, Cambridge Tom Shippey DPGT Volume 1
1982 The County Hotel, Canterbury Robert Giddings  
1981 Annesley Hotel, Lincoln Brian Sibley
Barbara Strachey
1980 Royal Station Hotel, York Tom Shippey DPGT Volume 1
1979 Westmoreland Hotel, London John Ezard
David Fielder
1978 Grand Hotel, Birmingham Rayner Unwin
Tom Shippey
1977 Grosvenor Hotel, Chester Michael Tolkien  
1976 Hampstead Town Hall, London Priscilla Tolkien
Humphrey Carpenter
1975 Bloomsbury Centre Hotel, London Priscilla Tolkien
Elizabeth Horrocks
1974 Ivanhoe Hotel, London Rayner Unwin
Austin Olney
1973 Sherlock Holmes Hotel, London Joy Chant  
1972 Home of Keith Bridges, Welwyn Garden City No Speaker  

Map of AGM Locations