Back to news feed Awards
Winners of The Tolkien Society Awards 2023 announced

We are pleased to announce the winners of The Tolkien Society Awards 2023.

The Tolkien Society Awards recognise excellence in the fields of Tolkien scholarship and fandom, highlighting our long-standing charitable objective to “seek to educate the public in, and promote research into, the life and works of Professor John Ronald Reuel Tolkien CBE”.

Tolkien Society members were invited to vote on shortlists prepared by the Trustees, which was based on nominations submitted by members of the public.

Congratulations to all winners!

The Tolkien Society Awards 2023

Best Artwork

Best Article

Best Book

  • WINNER: The Fall of Númenor, ed. Brian Sibley
  • The Great Tales Never End, eds. Richard Ovenden and Catherine McIlwaine
  • J.R.R. Tolkien: The Art of the Manuscript, eds. Bill Fliss et al.
  • Twenty-First Century Tolkien, Nick Groom

Best Online Content

Outstanding Contribution Award

John D. Rateliff
Independent Tolkien Scholar

“The Party Tree” by Serena Malyon
About the Author: Daniel Helen
Daniel is an Officer without Portfolio and Trustee of The Tolkien Society. Elected in 2014, he is mainly responsible for the Society's digital operations, including this website.