Back to news feed Awards
Vote now in the Tolkien Society Awards 2023
Winner of the Best Artwork Award 2022: “Minas Tirith built from 110000 LEGO Bricks”. Model by STEBRICK. Design by Stefano Mapelli. Assembled by BrickCreation.

The Trustees of The Tolkien Society are pleased to announce the shortlist for The Tolkien Society Awards 2023. Voting is open exclusively to members of the Society through the Members’ Area.


The shortlist for the Awards is as follows:

Best Artwork

Best Article

Best Book

  • The Fall of Númenor, ed. Brian Sibley
  • The Great Tales Never End, eds. Richard Ovenden and Catherine McIlwaine
  • J.R.R. Tolkien: The Art of the Manuscript, eds. Bill Fliss et al.
  • Twenty-First Century Tolkien, Nick Groom

Best Online Content

Outstanding Contribution Award

The recipient of the Outstanding Contribution Award 2023 has been selected by the Trustees and will be announced in due course.


Every member will be able to vote once in each category via the Members’ Area of this website.

You have until midnight on Friday 31st MArch to vote.

If you’re not a member but would like to take part, join the Society now.

About the Author: Shaun Gunner
Shaun is the Chair of The Tolkien Society. First elected in 2013, Shaun has overseen the Society's expansion from 600 to 3,500 members. Shaun regularly speaks about adaptations of Tolkien's works and the future of Tolkien scholarship whilst passionately believing the Society needs to reach out to new audiences. In his spare time he can be found playing video games and Lego, or on Twitter. He chaired another charity, Mankind, and is a local councillor.