Back to news feed Announcements Awards Tolkien Society Projects
Vote now in The Tolkien Society Awards

The Trustees of The Tolkien Society are pleased to announce the shortlist for The Tolkien Society Awards. Members of the Society will be able to vote through the members’ area.

Tomás Hijo’s “The Prancing Pony”, winner of the 2016 Award for Best Artwork
We received over a hundred nominations across the five categories of awards, and the Trustees of The Tolkien Society have drawn up shortlists in each individual category for members to vote. Only members of The Tolkien Society are able to vote in the Awards this year, so if you wish to vote you should visit our Join page to become a member of The Tolkien Society.


The shortlist for the Awards is as follows:

Best Artwork

Best Article

Best Book

  • A Secret Vice, ed. Dimitra Fimi and Andy Higgins
  • The Elvish Writing Systems of J.R.R. Tolkien, by Matthew D. Coombes
  • The Hobbit Facsimile First Edition, by J.R.R. Tolkien
  • The Lay of Aotrou and Itroun, ed. Verlyn Flieger

Outstanding Contribution Award

  • John Garth
  • Hammond and Scull

In the Best Website category, the Trustees felt there was no clarity amongst the nominations, so have decided that there will be no award in this category this year.


Every member will be able to vote once in each category through the members’ area of this website. You have until Friday 8th April to vote.

About the Author: Shaun Gunner
Shaun is the Chair of The Tolkien Society. First elected in 2013, Shaun has overseen the Society's expansion from 600 to 3,500 members. Shaun regularly speaks about adaptations of Tolkien's works and the future of Tolkien scholarship whilst passionately believing the Society needs to reach out to new audiences. In his spare time he can be found playing video games and Lego, or on Twitter. He chaired another charity, Mankind, and is a local councillor.