Back to news feed Announcements Awards
Submit your nominations for the Tolkien Society Awards 2015

The nomination period for the second annual Tolkien Society Awards is now open. The Awards recognise excellence in Tolkien scholarship and fandom.

The Awards also highlight our long-standing charitable objective to “seek to educate the public in, and promote research into, the life and works of Professor John Ronald Reuel Tolkien CBE“. At the inaugural Tolkien Society Awards last year, winners included Christopher Tolkien (Outstanding Contribution Award), John Garth (Best Article – “Tolkien and the boy who didn’t believe in fairies“), and Jenny Dolfen (Best Artwork – her “Eärendil the Mariner” is shown above).

The categories this year are:

  • Best Artwork
  • Best Article
  • Best Book
  • Best Website


  • Outstanding Contribution Award

The awards at the 2015 AGM cover the 2014 calendar year; there is no restriction on where books/articles/websites are published/hosted, but they should all be in English. The Best Book Award applies to both an edited book with multiple articles by different authors as well as a book by the same author(s) throughout. The Outstanding Contribution Award recognises individuals who have made important and exceptional contributions to Tolkien scholarship, Tolkien fandom, or the promotion of Tolkien and his works.

The winners will be announced during the Annual Dinner at the AGM & Springmoot on Saturday 11th April 2015 at the Norfolk Arms in Arundel.

All nominations must be sent to the Chairman, Shaun Gunner, by Tuesday 31st March.

About the Author: Daniel Helen
Daniel is an Officer without Portfolio and Trustee of The Tolkien Society. Elected in 2014, he is mainly responsible for the Society's digital operations, including this website.