Back to news feed Announcements Awards
New Tolkien Society Awards

The 2014 AGM will host the inaugural Tolkien Society Awards. The awards are to recognise excellence in the fields of Tolkien scholarship and fandom as well as highlighting our long-standing charitable objective to “seek to educate the public in, and promote research into, the life and works of Professor John Ronald Reuel Tolkien CBE”.

The categories are:

  • Best Artwork
  • Best Article
  • Best Book
  • Best Novel
  • Best Website


  • Outstanding Contribution Award

The awards at the 2014 AGM cover the 2013 calendar year; there is no restriction on where books/articles/websites are published/hosted, but they should all be in English. The Best Book Award applies to both an edited book with multiple articles by different authors as well as a book by the same author(s) throughout. Outstanding Contribution Award is for any individual who is felt to have made such to Tolkien scholarship, Tolkien fandom, or the promotion of Tolkien and his works.

All nominations must be sent to the Chairman, Shaun Gunner by Friday 4th April.

About the Author: Daniel Helen
Daniel is an Officer without Portfolio and Trustee of The Tolkien Society. Elected in 2014, he is mainly responsible for the Society's digital operations, including this website.